Life

Apartment Found?

As of today, I am 2 weeks away from my move-in date. That is, if I am approved for the 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment in Seattle’s Greenwood neighborhood. (Although, to be honest it’s a little north of Greenwood still. Bitter Lake is the more precise location.)

Screen Shot 2014-05-25 at 12.22.24 AM

I drove up to Seattle on Wednesday to hand out a couple resumés and view a couple apartment options. First of all, let me just say (for those who don’t already know):

Rent in Seattle is MUCH MORE than it is in Portland. You pay much more for way less, and it makes the apartment search unpleasant. Mostly because if you lift your price limit to 3x what you wanted to pay, and do a craigslist search for “capitol hill” or “queen anne” you will find the most wonderful apartment homes that you simply can’t afford — it’s torture. However, I forced myself to accept the fact that I can’t afford to live in the coolest Seattle neighborhoods right now. Maybe in a year or so I’ll be more rich.

But let’s face it: I have been spoiled in Portland. I currently live in a vintage downtown apartment for only $612 a month, and am in close proximity to everything, including my best friends and my job. Yes, I have been spoiled big time.

Screen Shot 2014-05-25 at 12.54.03 AM

In fact, now that I think about it, my apartment and my social life have been the best part about living in downtown Portland. It’s a great place to chill, but not a great place to spread your wings.

While in Seattle I looked at a studio for $875, and a two bedroom for $1425. The studio was cute, but it takes more than 425 square feet of hardwood floors to wow this 26-year-old woman! I found the two bedroom unit, which Olivia and I would split, much more appealing.

Screen Shot 2014-05-25 at 12.33.06 AM

Olivia is a girl I met through a friend. Specifically, she’s Kayla’s roommate Sierra’s friend. We get along well, are both black, like “trees”, and have similar lifestyles. I’m particularly excited about the fact that she’s clean, and actively does housework (love you O’quinn). Also, Olivia and I both value having our own space. If we get the unit we applied for, we will each have our own bathroom! All of these things in mind, I think we are likely to be well-suited roomies.

In addition to two bathrooms, this apartment has a washer/dryer, balcony, a fireplace, and they allow cats. Not too shabby! Yes folks, it looks like the frantic and stressful apartment hunt might — MIGHT — be over…cross your fingers and knock on wood. On Monday (probably Tuesday, because of Memorial Day) we will know for sure if mine and Olivia’s rental applications were approved.  I figure that I’ll start collecting boxes this week, and prep my apartment for the move by organizing my belongings and tossing things I won’t need in my new Seattle life.

I also need to plan my going away party, study Seattle Met Magazine, and tie up any loose ends in these southern parts. Stay tuned for more deets.

TTFN – Ta-ta for now!

Standard

Leave a Reply

