Life, Weightloss

September and I

September is my favorite month to crack open; Tis a month of new beginnings! I’m so glad I didn’t have to go to work today. Usually when blessed with a day off I would “reward” myself with some sort of over-indulgent breakfast combination like french toast, bacon, eggs, AND potatoes — but not today. I was kind to my body this morning while also throughly enjoying my breakfast. Isn’t it weird how healthy food can actually be enjoyable? I think it’s totally weird.

peachesOatmeal

If you can’t tell, those are sliced peaches on the left there, and on the right we have oatmeal with dried cranberries, almonds and brown sugar. I also had about sixteen ounces of iced nonfat Oregon chai, and I don’t want to hear a word about sugar content — I do what I want!

After breakfast (and about 45 minutes of guilt-free fangirling), my plan was to write. My only problem was writer’s block. It’s a first world problem, but a problem nonetheless. In search of a remedy, I read an article called 31 Ways to Find Inspiration for Your Writing. The article basically just lists off all the things a human can mentally and physically do. Hence, you can become inspired by LITERALLY anything. Even though the article seemed useless at first, some of the writers-block-busters did stick with me.

Exercise, for instance, is one that I agreed with. I always seem to get the best writing ideas while on the treadmill. This usually ends up pissing me off because I never get such epiphanies when I dedicate 3 hours to writing at Starbucks on a Sunday…but it’s whatever. I also agreed that watching Movies (and TV shows) can be very inspiring, because there are so many elements in a story to be inspired by. As someone who hopes to write a TV series someday, it makes sense why this would often be helpful to me. TV shows have always been really influential to me because I easily (and deeply) identify with the characters.

What you see below is what we call an “ideal setup”.

idealSetup

I ran for 10 minutes, walked at a 13.0 incline for another 10 minutes, and then did some strength training — all to the sweet sounds of How I Met Your MotherIt was magical and yet productive.

I actually think I’m going to dedicate an entire day to watching my favorite shows and taking notes on the experience. You know, just to sort my thoughts and inspirations. I have the next three days off (the joys of retail), a manuscript to write for grad school applications, and a body to whip into shape. September and I are about to make sweet, sweet love to my to-do list. Can’t wait to tear that shit up.

Standard

Leave a Reply

