Food, Health, Weightloss

Back on track, buddy.

As I looked back on my last post from March (MARCH!?), I was intrigued by the information I found there. Intrigued because it seemed like four years ago that I quit my job at LA Fitness. In reality, it was about four months ago. In the time that I have been away from NMM, I have acquired a part time job at Starbucks. Because I know you want to come in and get a Decaf-Triple-Grande-Vanilla-Nonfat-No Foam-Latte from me, I work at the one on SW Park and Clay in downtown Portland.

All I have to say about my ninety days working for the company, is that I am enjoying the perks, coping with the stress, and am finally learning what real work is. I really want to emphasize the word ‘work’ here. Being a Barista at Starbucks is very hard, demanding work…emotionally, mentally and physically. So demanding that I often found myself “treating” myself to unnecessary amounts of discounted coffee cake and free white chocolate mochas. To say that the temptation of readily available goods has been challenging would be an understatement. Let me just gear up and tell you exactly what the damage is:

Since I went to Hawaii in January I have gained back Every Single Pound of the thirteen I lost on Weight Watchers. Why, you might ask? The answer is very simple: I stopped participating in my Weight Watchers program. Regardless of the fact that the program was working, and that I was a mere FIVE POUNDS away from my goal weight, I stopped doing the program. Apparently Weight Watchers only works when you participate. Weird, right? So that’s the bad news. Take a second to absorb that and maybe you’ll get to the level of disappointment I have been at for the last couple months.

The good news is that I am back on track with tracking and Weight Watchers. I became fed up with my behavior a couple weeks ago and started tracking my points again. I have also been exercising A LOT. I think one of the best things that got me motivated was buddying-up. I know I have written a blog about buddy programs before, but I really just can’t say enough good things about the idea of having a weight loss or fitness buddy. My friend Beth, who started Weight Watchers for the second time a few months ago, has been the spitting image of my success on the program. She’s lost thirteen pounds as well and is training for a marathon! We’ve made a commitment to go on weekly runs together and it really has changed my attitude. Being obligated to an individual other than yourself is a real motivator. And it’s nice to have that support from someone who understands your goals and lifestyle.

That’s why I spent a good 40 minutes literally selling Weight Watchers to my mom. She’s been on the program for three days now <insert smug smiley here>. Although she was initially skeptical about biting the bullet and signing up, she is now excited to lose weight and having fun with it. Her enthusiasm has given me an additional boost. Having another Weight Watchers member living in the same house will be beneficial for both of us.

With two new weight loss buddies and a new fierceness to make my health and fitness a priority (no matter how tired I am from work), I am more confident than ever that I can reach my goal. I WILL lose the 18 pounds. If for nothing else than to prove to myself that I can.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Back on track, buddy.

Leave a Reply

