Exercise, Health, Weightloss

Day 1

Whether we’re ready or not, we’re halfway through April. Before we know it–in a little over two months–it’s going to be summer!

Last night, to kick-off my summer fitness plan, I went out and got myself a one-last-horrah-dip-cone from Dairy Queen. Did you know that they discontinued the butterscotch flavor? Rude. I got chocolate instead.

So today, April 13th, was Day One of my plan (it’s also exactly one month until my Birthday). I took ‘before’ pictures and everything. My goal is to lose a significant amount of body fat and tone muscle in time for summer. Ideally, I’d like to lose 15-20 pounds. Since I’ve heard that 90% of body fat loss is attributed to diet, that will be the most important aspect that I focus on during the next two months. I’m sure you’re all wondering what exactly my plan is, so let me give you a quick run-down.

Eating:

  • No more muffins, no cookies, no ice cream, no candy. Nothing in the junk food zone.
  • Small meal portions.
  • Snack (healthily) often.
  • Limit of one diet soda per day. Drink water in its place.
  • Eat mostly fruit, vegetables and lean protein.

Exercise

For Month 1:

  • Any level of Jillian’s 30-Day Shred (I want to see if it works), 5 days a week.
  • A different workout of my choice 1-2 days a week.
  • Me and my friend Kenzie are going to try a FREE week of yoga classes at Core Power in Portland.

For Month 2:

  • Challenging workout of my choice 6 days a week.
  • Take various fitness classes (spinning, zumba, yoga, aerobics).

After my first 30 days are over on May 13th (my Birthday), I plan on taking another set of ‘before’ and ‘after’ pictures and going out for a celebratory Birthday dinner at The Cheesecake Factory. Oh yes, I will be eating cheesecake and pasta on my Birthday. Then, I will proceed on with the next 30 days and take more pictures at the end of round two. Don’t worry, I’ll post all my results pictures despite how unsightly they might be.

I’ll be trying plenty of new recipes and exercise routines so be sure to check back. Also, I’m interested in hearing about healthy recipes and good fitness classes in the Portland area. If you have any suggestions feel free to leave them in a comment.

Wish me luck…actually, don’t wish me luck. Wish me strength and will power.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Great post. Continue to keep more inviting publications. Been following blog for Three days now and I should say I am starting to much like your post. I need to know how can I subscribe to your blog?

  2. Becky Brown says:

    I am so glad you decided to blog today. I completed a 30 day fitness challenge, was feeling really good and then basically threw it all away this past week because of work parties and events that included alcohol and food that I did NOT need. This is exactly what I was trying to avoid – the roller coaster diet/workout plan. I am really dissapointed in myself. However, I feel newly enthused about joining you in the quest toward “awesome summer body 2011”! Let’s do this!! Strength and will power to us both!

    • I find that it’s really motivating to have before and after pictures. It kind of gives me something to work towards since I really want to SEE the results. It keeps me going. This summer we’re going to look and feel awesome! Let’s do it. You should leave me comments on here about how your progress is going and what helps you in terms of motivation. 🙂

      • Becky Brown says:

        Will do! It makes such a difference to just know that I have the support and understanding of friends who are trying to make the same positive life choices that I am trying to make! It’s really hard living in a city that seems to contain many naturally thin people with high metabolisms. They don’t understand the concept of “watching what you eat” and “needing to go to the gym” instead of going out! Keep it up, J!

Leave a Reply

