Uncategorized

A new place

Photos by Ryan Mowery

I’ve been putting off blogging for more than a week because I didn’t think I had anything informative or insightful to say. Since my weigh-in, things have gone awry. I drove from Eugene to Seattle and back in two days, which exhausted me to say the least. Since it’s finals week and I am in the process of moving into my own apartment, I have been desperately trying to find some sort of balance between packing, exercising, studying, and relaxing. However, the exercise bit has been the most neglected for the past week.

I did manage to get myself up early for a 2.1-mile run on a pretty (and damp) Seattle trail. While staying in the lovely state of Washington, I did surprisingly well with my food rules. Still, I felt guilty for not working out as diligently as I was the previous week. My aunt Kim, who used to be a female body builder and now settles for daily 6am workouts, assured me that once I was in my own environment again I would get right back into the swing of things. I believe her.

The problem is, I’m still not in my own environment even though I’m back in my own city. Sure, I’m home. But having my belongings in two different places is hardly stable. I am a person, as I’m sure many of you are, who is very affected by their environment. If I’m not comfortable in my environment, I get very anxious, overwhelmed and emotional. So when I’m halfway between two places, it’s difficult to go on as normal, working out everyday and doing workout DVDs in my living room.

Both my house and my apartment are in a state of chaos; neither place is complete. My workout clothes are in boxes, my DVDs are packed, and my schedule is all over the place. With all the packing and moving and cleaning and studying going on, I can barely figure out how to live life as normal, let alone squeeze in an hour of cardio.

And speaking of ‘normal’, my eating habits are anything but normal at this point. Since I haven’t worked out every day this week, I have also needed much less food for energy. I’ve been eating very little during the day and haven’t really had a problem with it. I suppose it balances out the not exercising part. To my surprise, when I weighed myself this morning (Oops!) I found that I have actually lost about 2 pounds since August 3rd. I was rather confused when I discovered this because I have not been working out nearly as much as I should be. Despite my two-pound loss, this is not the way in which I roll.

After I get completely moved in to my new place (my very own new place!), I’ll be able to get back in to my tedious  routine. But until then, I think I’ll just do what I can with the circumstances I have. For instance, I’m going to use all my empty space in my new living room to give Yoga a sincere try. After reading Eat, Pray, Love, I just have to see if it’s right for me. Additionally,  today was grocery shopping day. Now that I’ve filled my empty fridge and cabinets with produce and whole foods, I’ll be cooking my first nutritious meal in my apartment tonight.

This entry marks the transition into a new beginning for me. I’ll be living on my own, and discovering a new part of my individuality. I think Yoga will be a rather appropriate new practice  to take on in such a solitary state. I’m taking a deep breath, and diving in to this new stage of adulthood. Can’t wait to share my lessons with you all.

Here we go!

Standard

One thought on “A new place

  1. Oooh. Seattle. Rainy Seattle. Welcome, my dear friend. I have been living here for the past 5 years. It’s fun 🙂

    And yeah, just be sure to get back to your routines. The most important thing is to always go back to working out, no matter what (even when you ate a piece of cake last night and feel guilty about it).

    As a friend of mine always says, losing weight is not a sprint; it’s a marathon.

    Good luck,
    Anna

Leave a Reply

