Weightloss

French fry incident

I’m not a woman who likes to make excuses, especially when it comes to eating right for the purposes of getting in shape. You know the type. When you’re validating a cake binge because it was your boyfriend’s brother’s Birthday, it’s clear that you’re not mentally prepared for your weight loss. But sometimes there is such a thing as an extenuating circumstance. In which case, you must recognize that you are making yet another pathetic excuse for your unnecessary eating and choose to not let it happen again.

To my dissatisfaction, I became ill two nights ago. Don’t worry, it’s nothing serious. Just the common cold. Albeit, a nasty and relentless common cold that kept me up all night and made me more than slightly miserable the next day. Lucky for me, I was already planning on taking Thursday as my day of rest for the week. But it didn’t stop there, and I was well past pissed when I went to sleep and woke up with the same balloon of a head.

I’m sure I was offensive to all the senses throughout my day. And ironically, all of my senses seemed to be failing me. For some reason when I’m sick I usually have a hard time tasting my food. I usually have a desperate and illogical craving for pizza when I’m sick. It’s as if the only thing that I can really enjoy when I’m sick is complex carbohydrates. What am I going to do, eat salad and an apple? I’m so sure.

So today I got home around 4pm after enduring what I perceived to be a stressful day of class, errands, and house work. I had been starving myself all day due to a lack of June-Plan-appropriate foods on hand. I left my house in search of food that would satisfy my hunger, my plan, and my taste buds.

I pulled in to Newman’s Fish and walked into the marketplace. (I actually wasn’t aware that they had such a large selection of fresh fish!) But I wasn’t in the market for a large slab of salmon at the moment. I was pursuing a weakness for something fried. As I walked around to the side of the building, I meekly walked up to the order window and felt ashamed for being there. I knew what came with the fried salmon pieces I was about to order: french fries.

I won’t go into the horny specifics of how I devoured my fish and fries, but I’m sure you can imagine the scene.

I’ll admit right here and now that I made an excuse for myself, and a pathetic one at that. I think that my being sick right now is a bit of an excuse for a less rigorous (or skipped) workout requirement, but it’s no excuse to go soft over a silly little basket of scrumptious french fries. I said to myself, “french fries weren’t on your ‘NO’ list,” “You’re sick, and starving.” I was clearly not in my right mind.

I realize that there is no excuse for eating french fries during this month. I hope that my cold will not carry on until tomorrow so that I can proceed with my intensive workout regimen.

One of the worst things that we can do when trying to lose weight is to jump off the wagon and say, “whoops, I ate french fries. May as well give up.” The french fry incident was something that happened. It’s not something that I am going to dwell on any further. It’s also not happening again. The end. Now lets move on with our skinny  lives.

Standard

One thought on “French fry incident

  1. Becky says:

    Your last point in this post is spot-on. So many people, including myself, make food “mistakes” and then simply use them as an excuse to either give up or to continue eating poorly. It’s so easy to say, “Well I have already had french fries, so I may as well have a Coke, a milkshake, and a burger too.” It is so important to keep in mind that food mistakes happen and days of weakness happen. But, these things are FAR from a reason to give up on your pursuit of a healthy fit body. J – Thanks for pointing this out to so many people who choose to throw in the towel when they don’t have to.

Leave a Reply

