Recipes

Curry Craze

I make curry around two to three times a week. I cook it so often that it’s kind of like driving; I’m completely on autopilot. The bulk of my focus is usually on barking out orders to my boyfriend, Philip who is the designated chopper when we make it together. We’re trying to cut back on the amount of curry we consume because lately it’s just been downright excessive. That being said, I know for a fact I’ll be making it tonight.

I’m finally posting this recipe because my house guests are always commenting on the tempting aroma my curry gives off, and I’ve had several people ask me for the recipe. I wish I could say that I came up with this fabulous recipe all by myself, because it is, in fact, my favorite meal to cook. Truth be told, I took the original recipe from my friend Michelle who got it from her father, Tom Hiskey. Since I first tried it out, I’ve adapted it significantly to fit my own taste. It’s relatively low in fat and you can remove and add whatever veggies you want!

Chicken Curry

Adapted from a recipe by Tom Hiskey
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 2 large garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli
  • 3/4 cup chopped bell peppers (any color)
  • 1 cup chopped zucchini
  • 1 can Campbells Cream of Mushroom Soup
  • 2 Tbs light sour cream
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2-3 Tbs curry powder
  • Garlic Salt
  • Pepper
  • Basil

First things first, start cooking the rice. It’s preferable to use a rice cooker for this, but a pot will also do. Defrost the chicken in the microwave or under running water. Combine chopped onion and garlic in a large skillet and drizzle with olive oil. Bring heat to medium so that the olive oil is hot and simmering. Add sliced chicken to skillet and drizzle with more olive oil if needed. Add garlic salt, pepper and basil throughout according to preference. Cook chicken over medium until white.

Meanwhile, chop vegetables into bite-sized pieces.  Add broccoli and bell peppers to skillet. Continue to cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until vegetables are no longer crunchy (about 10-15 minutes). Add zucchini and cook until tender.

Reduce heat to medium-low. Add cream of mushroom soup, large dollop of light sour cream, and milk. Stir mixture until it’s a solid color. Bring heat back to medium. Add curry powder and stir thoroughly.  Make sure the curry powder is completely stirred in before adding more. I usually add a hefty amount because I like it pretty yellow.
Serve in large bowls over brown rice and enjoy!

For making curry with shrimp:


First cook all the vegetables (except the zucchini) as the recipe directs above. Then add in raw shrimp with a tablespoon of butter. Continue to cook over medium heat until shrimp is completely pink. Add zucchini and continue the recipe above. Do not overcook shrimp.

Serves 2-4

Standard

4 thoughts on “Curry Craze

    • Thanks! I try to get the 98% fat free and low sodium can of soup. I’ve also been considering making it with fat free sour cream. It’s barely noticeable in such a mixture as this.

  1. Pingback: It’s pretty simple « No Moore Muffins

Leave a Reply

